Skip to content

Our board

North Coast Local Land Services is governed by a board of local people.

Board members work closely with landholders and local communities to identify and deliver services that are relevant to local needs.

Local boards are comprised of a mix of Ministerially-appointed and elected board members who bring a wealth of skills, experience and commitment to the organisation.

The Chair and two board members are appointed by the Minister for Primary Industries – the remaining three board members are elected by Local Land Services ratepayers.

Together they focus on the strategic direction of the organisation, promoting the services offered, encouraging partnerships and building strong relationships with investors while also communicating the priorities and concerns of customers to local boards.

Section 29 of the Local Land Services Act 2013 sets out the functions of local boards. They are legally binding and should be interpreted as the definitive reference regarding the role of local boards.


Bob Smith, Mylestom

Bob is an experienced scientist, manager and adviser in the sustainable management, protection and profitable use of natural resources, with extensive experience in all levels of government. He is also a board member with Greening Australia.

Appointed Board members

Mark Bulley, Port Macquarie

Mark is based in the Hastings valley and has a background not only in the dairy and beef industries but has also farmed oysters in the Hastings River for 25 years. Mark is a member of the Ministerial Fisheries Advisory Council, Chair of the NSW Fish Habitat Partnership and is currently working in the Viticulture Industry. He was also appointed to the inaugural North Coast Local Land Services Board.

Tom Cooper, Bonalbo

Tom is passionate about the North Coast having run a mixed dairy, beef and pork enterprise in partnership with his wife on their Bonalbo property for the past 20 years. He was also part of the inaugural North Coast Local Land Services Board as an elected member. Tom served for 12 years on the Norco Board, six of these as Deputy Chairman. In his role at Norco he chaired the Member Services Committee and Communication Committee and was a member of Audit and Risk Remuneration Committees.

Elected Board members

Tom Cooper, Bonalbo (elected 2014, now an appointed board member)

Neil Summerville, Casino

Enrol to vote – 2017 board elections

Ratepayers must enrol before being eligible to vote in the Local Land Services Board elections

In May 2017 enrolled ratepayers will vote to elect three local board members (or four in the Western region) to join 11 regional Local Land Services boards.

Enrol online or complete an enrolment form at your nearest Local Land Services office.